top of page

Blog: LOVE is a 4 LEGGED WORD

Anytime I am asked to take pictures for a family or individual, it is special to me. This past week's session gave new meaning to the word "special". I have known this family for a few years now and have had the honor of taking pictures for them on several different occasions including wedding reception and newborn pictures for their first child. Furthermore, this husband and wife duo are BOTH Veterinarians and our pups go to the wife's vet!

Last week, Dr. Eileen sent me a text and asked me if I would photograph her dogs "BEST DAY EVER"; Mya is almost 12 years old and has cancer.

I have to admit, I have never been asked to do this but I have read stories and watched videos of other people doing this for their own pets. I jumped at the chance to do this for a family that certainly gives a new meaning of the word LOVE for their pets. I knew this was going to be a special session but I didn't realize HOW special until I was in the midst of it.

Having 2 dogs myself, there were moments where I got a bit misty-eyed. I watched and captured the friendship and the love between each family member and beautiful Mya. The way Mya still had pep in her step, her love for tennis balls, and how just being with her, made each family member smile and hold back tears all at the same time. The way they LOVE Mya SO fiercely made my eyes well up and looking through the pictures gives me chills, every.single.time.

I want to leave you all with this quote from Marley & Me:

"A dog has no use for fancy cars, big homes, or designer clothes. A water logged stick will do just fine. A dog doesn't care if you're rich or poor, clever or dull, smart or dumb. Give him your heart and he'll give you his. How many people can you say that about? How many people can make you feel rare and pure and special? How many people can make you feel extraordinary?"

Here's to you Mya -- I truly hope you did have the BEST DAY EVER!!!

Thoughts and prayers to you Mya and your loving family!


  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
bottom of page